

2008

Hosted By



Finalists Announcement 2008

Congratulations to all the finalists of the Australian Muslim Achievement Awards (AMAA) for 2008. The finalists below are our first round of finalists. Judges will now choose the winners in the next few weeks and they will be announced at the Australian Muslim Achievement Awards Night on Saturday the 29<sup>th</sup> of November 2008.

# Congratulations to the successful finalists

#### Woman of the Year

Galila Abdelsalam QLD

Mrs Firhana Imam VIC

### Man of the Year

**Dr Mohamad Abdalla QLD** (Congratulations, outright winner as voting was unanimous between 8 nominees for this category)

### Youth of the Year (16-26)

Nazeem Hussein VIC

Samah Hadid NSW

Bilal El Hayek NSW

#### Role Model of the Year

Hussam Elmaghraby VIC

Bilal El-Hayek NSW

Mustafa Ally VIC

# Sportsperson of the Year

Safwan Khalil NSW

Bilal El-Hayek NSW

# Professional of the Year

Fadle El Harris NSW

Doctor Tariq Khan NSW

# Event of the Year

Sounds of Light NSW-VIC-QLD

Green Scarf Day NSW - VIC

MSA Australia UniGoal - NSW

# Media Outlet of the Year

Salam Café

One4Kids

Muslimvillage.net

# Business of the Year

Ali Gator Book Club VIC

One4Kids NSW

Filmotion Productions NSW

# Community / Humanitarian Organisation of the Year

Affinity Intercultural Foundation NSW

Al-Nisa Youth Group Inc - Muslim Youth Services QLD

# Best New Community Project / Initiative of the Year

Green Scarf Day NSW

One4Kids - Zaky's Learning Club NSW

Crescents of Brisbane – Breast Cancer Awareness QLD

# Volunteer of the Year

Mustafa Ally QLD

Siddiq Buckley NSW

Mohammed Harris NSW

### Creative Artist of the Year

Fadle El-Harris NSW

Peter Gould NSW

Subhi Alshaik NSW

# Researcher / Academic of the Year

Jamila Hussein NSW

Dr Bircan Erbas VIC

All finalists will be contacted to attend this very special awards ceremony. The winners will not be known till Saturday 29<sup>th</sup> of November during the Awards Ceremony.

#### **Recipient of the Australian Muslim Lifetime Achiever Award 2008:**

Aziza Abdel Halim OAM ( > 25 years of Excellence in Community / Professional service)

#### **Mainstream Organisation Award 2008:**

Columban Institute for Christian-Muslim Relations (for Excellence in Interfaith Dialogue-Relations)

#### **Abyssinian Award 2008:**

**Professor Peter Manning (Excellence in Media and Journalism)** 

The event will be held at *Bosphorous Lounge*, 7 Station Rd Auburn, NSW.

We hope to see you all at the awards night to celebrate the on Saturday 29th of November 2007 at the Please visit <a href="https://www.missionofhope.org.au">www.missionofhope.org.au</a> for updates of this event.

With Peace,

Hanan Dover President, Mission of Hope www.missionofhope.org.au